Categories
Uncategorized

Tapping Into Something New

Apologies for the radio silence. What a whirlwind the last few months have been – reminding me that when life gets in the way, as it invariably does, there are people out there who care and will help you get back on track. So here we are, somewhat late but full of excitement for what is about to come. But let me start at the beginning.

As a full-time student enrolled in the Master of ID, securing a placement or research opportunity early on in the degree felt like a chance to get a head start on topics relevant to my IDR and, more importantly, restore a sense of control in a time marred by deep uncertainty. Without doubt, starting the program right at the outset of a global pandemic meant that I needed to learn how to navigate this uncertainty. Given that I spent much of my first semester contemplating whether I made the right decision to stay in Australia, I had been putting a lot of pressure on myself to find an IDR project that lives up to my high expectations, one worth the sacrifice of being away from family and friends. It is perhaps natural, given the circumstances, that I first turned to my family for advice. Speaking to people within my immediate circle, I realised that there were already invaluable networking opportunities around me. Fast forward to a few months ago, and I am on a call with a contact working from the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), an organisation whose sole humanitarian mission is to protect the lives and dignity of victims of war and internal violence, and to provide them with assistance.

It truly has been an eventful few months since I first got off that phone call. What followed was the second leg of my IDR journey, which eventually led to a research project agreement between the ICRC, RMIT, and myself. Over the course of a five-month research project, I will assist ICRC’s Health Care in Danger (HCiD) by mapping practical initiatives in Australia to help prevent violence against health care workers. This will be based on a contextual needs analysis and will involve providing recommendations on how these initiatives can be effectively applied in HCiD operations around the world. Working alongside the HCiD Team in Geneva, although remotely from Melbourne, I am hoping to contribute relevant research towards the organisation’s strategic objectives. However, first and foremost, I see the IDR experience as an opportunity to confront my own ideas, opinions, and beliefs. To do so in safe space that leaves room for me to grow and learn as a student, professional and person.

The greatest thing I have had to unlearn thus far, is letting go of my academic writing, and, instead, appreciate that there will be situations where I might not have the ‘right’ answer or word to describe what I feel. This will help me to recognise and clarify the important connections between what I already know and what I am only just learning. Similar to my research task, this blog will be part of an explorative journey to becoming an active, aware, and critical learner throughout my IDR and beyond.

I cannot wait to update you very soon again. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment